Exporting file to load into Google Earth

A forum to discuss the CAD aspects of Irricad.
Post Reply
ALaing
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:13 pm
Company: Aquawest
City / Town: Dubbo, NSW

Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by ALaing » Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:38 am

Hi
Just wondering if anyone has tried to export a file with contours generated from a GPS survey from IrriCad into Google Earth? I have a client who wants to do this and I have tried some options but had no success to date. Any info would be appreciated.
Thanks
Andy Laing

User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by jovivier » Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:33 am

Hi Andy,

First make sure the coordinates are UTM coordinates. Then set the UTM zone in Settings|Grid/Origin/GIS if it is not already set. You can move the design into the correct position by importing the satellite image from Google Earth and moving the design into position, then run File|Compress. Note that if you need to send a file back to the surveyor or GPS equipment for marking out first save a copy of the design before moving any items.
You can check the file by using View|View in Google Earth.
When exporting to KML/KMZ files enable the "Export Elevations" option.

The IRRICAD Team

ALaing
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:13 pm
Company: Aquawest
City / Town: Dubbo, NSW

Re: Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by ALaing » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:01 pm

Have you encountered any problems with AutoCAD whilst running IrriCad. I tried a few options to export the dwg/dxf files from IrriCad and the next day my AutoCAD 2014 bombed out, it will not load a dwg file at all and is still not functional.
Thanks
Andy Laing

User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by jovivier » Fri Aug 25, 2017 4:50 pm

Hi Andy,

IRRICAD cannot affect AutoCAD. Try several different dwg files from different sources to check it is not related to the file(s) you have been trying to import.

The IRRICAD Team

Post Reply