Decimal Separator Trouble

Tip semanal para ayudarle a obtener lo máximo de Irricad.

Moderator: Hutch

Post Reply
jabesmedeiros
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 2:47 pm
Company: Ingeniería y Servicios Medeiros Ltda.
City / Town: Temuco

Decimal Separator Trouble

Post by jabesmedeiros » Fri Jul 10, 2015 2:13 pm

Hi friends! I've recently bought Irricad 14.16 and it was a big jump cause I had 8.15 previously. I must still use the version 8.15 because of some difficulties I'm still having with my new version. So... the question. I'm having trouble with the coma and dot decimal separators. My 14.16 version uses comas and 8.15 uses dots.Then, every time I swicth versions, I get my desing parameters messed up because of this. Can I configure Irricad 14 to use dot as decimal separator? Thank you very much!!

User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 503
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Decimal Separator Trouble

Post by jovivier » Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:39 am

In later versions of IRRICAD the decimal separator is obtained directly from the computer's "Region and Language" settings in the Control Panel.

You can select a different decimal separator than your region's default one by clicking on the "Additional settings" button on the "Formats" tab. Note this change will affect your whole computer and every application.
DecimalSeparatorsml.jpg
DecimalSeparatorsml.jpg (63.72 KiB) Viewed 13551 times
It is possible to have different regional settings for different user accounts. You could set up a new user account to use the point as the decimal separator and always log into the new user account to use IRRICAD.

If you don't want to set up a new user account or change the decimal separator for all applications you will have to remember to use a comma decimal separator in Version 14 and a point decimal separator in Version 8. If you use the wrong one then the number is truncated to the whole number when the dialog is closed e.g., "1.5" will become "1" or "0.001" will become "0" when the regional settings are set to use a comma separator.

jabesmedeiros
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 2:47 pm
Company: Ingeniería y Servicios Medeiros Ltda.
City / Town: Temuco

Re: Decimal Separator Trouble

Post by jabesmedeiros » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:52 am

Thank you for the answer Jo. It was very clear. Regards.

Post Reply