Visual Representation of Errors

Product improvement suggestions or feature requests can be made in this forum.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kosi Kalogerinis
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:56 pm
Company: Netafim Australia
City / Town: Adelaide, South Australia
Product: Irricad Link (BricsCAD)

Visual Representation of Errors

Post by Kosi Kalogerinis »

Hello,

Occasionally when getting an error for whatever reason...velocity issues, tape bends etc.... we need to search for these errors via the Goto Coords method. A more user friendly way of doing this would be to have visual markers on the drawing to highlight these errors (a different symbol perhaps for a different error).

I guess something very similar to the highlighted marker that shows outlet connectivity problems.

Gennaro Vellotti
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:28 pm
Company: Netafim Australia Pty Ltd
City / Town: Adelaide
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by Gennaro Vellotti »

BUMP ;)
You only live once, but if you work it right, once is enough.

User avatar
Kosi Kalogerinis
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:56 pm
Company: Netafim Australia
City / Town: Adelaide, South Australia
Product: Irricad Link (BricsCAD)

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by Kosi Kalogerinis »

Bump x 2

This would be a real time saver..especially for the design I'm doing now :idea:

User avatar
Kosi Kalogerinis
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:56 pm
Company: Netafim Australia
City / Town: Adelaide, South Australia
Product: Irricad Link (BricsCAD)

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by Kosi Kalogerinis »

Image

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:48 am
Company: Lincoln Agritech Ltd.
City / Town: Christchurch
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by phil »

Hi Kosi/Gennaro

You can use the "hyperlinks" in the warning messages to zoom to the coordinates displayed? There were a couple of omissions when this was enabled (the 487 warning being one) but these have been fixed and will be available in the next version.

I can see some significant problems in using a "connectivity check" approach. Would work fine if all the warnings are the same but not that well in the general case when they all could be different.

Gennaro Vellotti
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:28 pm
Company: Netafim Australia Pty Ltd
City / Town: Adelaide
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by Gennaro Vellotti »

BUMP ;)

Use different symbols for different errors. If your stuck, I can help you with that :)
You only live once, but if you work it right, once is enough.

Corey
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:38 am
Company: Water Dynamics
City / Town: Mildura

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by Corey »

A visual showing where the hot spots are (by that I mean pipe with higher than normal velocity readings) would be a lot easier, than going through those reports. A quick visual = a quick fix

User avatar
Kosi Kalogerinis
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:56 pm
Company: Netafim Australia
City / Town: Adelaide, South Australia
Product: Irricad Link (BricsCAD)

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by Kosi Kalogerinis »

BUMP :D

theo.human
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 1:12 pm
Company: Nutrien Water
City / Town: NURIOOTPA
Product: Irricad Standalone

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by theo.human »

It will be great to have some sort of hyperlink or coordinates that takes you to the node/item that has an error. Why can we see a pipe that has not been calculated (no selection) with a link to it when running the analysis, but we do not have the same ability with other error items? The inability to see this waste a lot a time, especially when having a problem on large designs. If there is already a way of finding these items, i would appreciate if someone can let me know. TIA

User avatar
Dan Crosby
Site Admin
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:28 am
Company: Lincoln Agritech Ltd.
City / Town: Lincoln
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by Dan Crosby »

Hi Theo,

It's not quite 'visual' in the way you describe, but a similar feature is available in Irricad Link. Link maintains a list of the errors produced by the last executed design process and you can cycle through the list using the IRR_SHOWDESIGNERRORS command (Design|Design Errors menu). If there is a location in the error message, Link will move the design to that point.

Regards

Dan Crosby
Irricad Developer
Lincoln Agritech Ltd

User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 697
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Visual Representation of Errors

Post by jovivier »

In addition to Dan's suggestion about viewing the errors, where IRRICAD knows the location of the error it will provide links in the screen message - simply click to be taken directly to that location:-
errormessagelinks.png
errormessagelinks.png (5.32 KiB) Viewed 1519 times
To ensure that the error messages stay on the screen long enough see Design|Design Parameters|Analysis Parameters - "Info delay time" - the default is 2500 milliseconds. Otherwise, the coordinates can be seen in Reports|View Errors in IRRICAD Standalone or, as Dan has mentioned for Link, via Design|Design Errors. Then use the GoToCoords tool (IRR_GOTO command in IRRICAD Link) to go to the location if required.

In some cases IRRICAD cannot determine the location of the error, or there are multiple locations, and will be unable to provide the link in the error message.

Other methods to help identify issues:-
- Flow and pressure maps, available from the Reports menu
- Hydraulic labelling
- Conditional labelling. For example, if you wish to label all mainline pipes that are over velocity then the label format is #HY_MAX_V>[2.0]#
If TRUE (e.g., the velocity is greater than 2), the label will display the actual velocity and velocity unit (e.g., 2.13 m/s). If FALSE (e.g., the pipe velocity is less than 2) then no label is displayed. For more information see the Release Notes for Version 17 – Label Enhancements.

The IRRICAD Team

Post Reply