Google Earth Import

Post any bug reports here, but please read the "Reporting Bugs" thread before posting.
Post Reply
bhaas
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:49 am
Company: Bryant Pipe & Supply
City / Town: Hood River
Product: Irricad Link (BricsCAD)

Re: Google Earth Import

Post by bhaas » Tue Dec 10, 2019 12:36 pm

The upper left corner (first tile captured) of a Google Earth imagery import is almost always distorted/misplaced after it is brought into Irricad. I'm using Irricad v17 with BricsCAD v19. I'm able to replicate it on Irricad standalone v17.
GEIssue.png

BHaas

User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Google Earth Import

Post by jovivier » Tue Dec 10, 2019 3:27 pm

Hi,

We can't seem to replicate this here. Can you please:-
1. Send us your IrricadGEImport.ini file. (email to Support@IRRICAD.com)
2. Let us know the exact location and area that you are trying to import (the size etc). To assist with this you can send us one of the existing .png files that exist from your previous download.
3. Which image settings are you using? Medium or Large?
4. Please detail the process that you go through step by step.
5. Please also let us know how many monitors you have, and their resolutions.

The IRRICAD Team.

User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Google Earth Import

Post by jovivier » Thu Dec 12, 2019 4:28 pm

Thanks for the details that you sent through.

This appears to happen if the Import from Google Earth utility is open on a screen that has a higher resolution than the screen that IRRICAD is on.
The way to avoid this, apart from setting all your screens to the same resolution, is to make sure that the utility is sitting on top of the IRRICAD screen before drawing the bounding box.

The IRRICAD Team

bhaas
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:49 am
Company: Bryant Pipe & Supply
City / Town: Hood River
Product: Irricad Link (BricsCAD)

Re: Google Earth Import

Post by bhaas » Fri Dec 13, 2019 5:47 am

Thanks for the reply.

Both of my screens are the same resolution. I have also made sure that the windows are stacked when I am importing from the GE utility. I get the same result. It's always the first tile being captured.

--Ben

User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Google Earth Import

Post by jovivier » Tue Dec 17, 2019 2:40 pm

Hi Ben,

This looks like it could be a 'timing' issue which will be fixed in the near future.
In the mean time try having the Import from Google Earth utility full screen as this may help.

The IRRICAD Team

Post Reply