Exporting file to load into Google Earth

A forum to discuss the CAD aspects of Irricad.
Post Reply
ALaing
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:13 pm
Company: Aquawest
City / Town: Dubbo, NSW

Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by ALaing »

Hi
Just wondering if anyone has tried to export a file with contours generated from a GPS survey from IrriCad into Google Earth? I have a client who wants to do this and I have tried some options but had no success to date. Any info would be appreciated.
Thanks
Andy Laing
User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by jovivier »

Hi Andy,

First make sure the coordinates are UTM coordinates. Then set the UTM zone in Settings|Grid/Origin/GIS if it is not already set. You can move the design into the correct position by importing the satellite image from Google Earth and moving the design into position, then run File|Compress. Note that if you need to send a file back to the surveyor or GPS equipment for marking out first save a copy of the design before moving any items.
You can check the file by using View|View in Google Earth.
When exporting to KML/KMZ files enable the "Export Elevations" option.

The IRRICAD Team
ALaing
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:13 pm
Company: Aquawest
City / Town: Dubbo, NSW

Re: Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by ALaing »

Have you encountered any problems with AutoCAD whilst running IrriCad. I tried a few options to export the dwg/dxf files from IrriCad and the next day my AutoCAD 2014 bombed out, it will not load a dwg file at all and is still not functional.
Thanks
Andy Laing
User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by jovivier »

Hi Andy,

IRRICAD cannot affect AutoCAD. Try several different dwg files from different sources to check it is not related to the file(s) you have been trying to import.

The IRRICAD Team
seng
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:34 am
Company: Spare Engineering
City / Town: Hesston, Kansas
Product: Irricad Link (BricsCAD)

Re: Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by seng »

Hi,
Using IC-Standalone V19.13, I have created a set of contours with Contour labels on a layer, IC_ContourLabels. I have been trying to View in Google Earth, and to export KML to Google Earth, yet so far I am unable to see those labels on GE-- it is only the contours that appear. When I do the export, I have a separate window (KML Import / Export Settings) to specify various items. I have tried placing Label 1 on Named Object Name; also Label 1 with Named Object Description; also have checked Export Elevations. Still the labels do not appear on GE. Does anyone have suggestions?

Thanks,
Dan
User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by jovivier »

There is no direct entity translation for a text box in KML, making exporting labels visually a bit tricky. This is the reason you can export the label contents as either the name or the description of the entity (or both) when exporting to a KML file. So, for instance, if you export the Description and Label Set 1 after labelling, the label info is in the description and you can see it by clicking the entity
LabelSetSettings.png
LabelSetSettings.png (6.55 KiB) Viewed 1504 times
KMLAttribute.png
KMLAttribute.png (663.63 KiB) Viewed 1504 times
Note, that these settings cannot be pre-set for use in the "View in Google Earth" function.

Alternatively, in IRRICAD Standalone, you can explode the label into ordinary text, which will export.

The IRRICAD Team.
seng
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:34 am
Company: Spare Engineering
City / Town: Hesston, Kansas
Product: Irricad Link (BricsCAD)

Re: Exporting file to load into Google Earth

Post by seng »

Thanks Jo. That is what I needed to know and understand!
Dan
Post Reply