Flush Sub-mains

Product improvement suggestions or feature requests can be made in this forum.
Post Reply
Harvie
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:03 am
Company: Irrigation Systems Australia
City / Town: McCracken SA
Product: Irricad Standalone

Flush Sub-mains

Post by Harvie »

Would it be possible to add a lateral count quantity per flush manifold to be in 2's specifically or maybe 3's or 4's?
A large number of tree crops are watered via 2 driplines per row. But quite often automated flush assembly valves show a flush valve placed on a tree row where it is connected to one line instead of both lines on the tree row. I understand why it is happening, but the above request would fix it.
Thanks
User avatar
jovivier
Site Admin
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 pm
Company: LVL
City / Town: Blenheim
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Flush Sub-mains

Post by jovivier »

Just to clarify, do you mean this occurs when specifying the number of flushing manifolds for the block?

There are three options for creating the flushing manifolds. In the situations where lateral groups are present it would be best to specify the number of laterals per manifold by using the "Max. laterals Per Manifold" option, where the number of laterals per manifold is a multiple of the number of laterals in each group.

However, we will be adding your suggestion re the number of manifold to work better with groups to our list for review and consideration.

The IRRICAD Team
Harvie
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:03 am
Company: Irrigation Systems Australia
City / Town: McCracken SA
Product: Irricad Standalone

Re: Flush Sub-mains

Post by Harvie »

Hi Jo.
When I set maximum at 12 or 14 lines, there are occurances of 11 or 13 lines per manifold. This means that when you have 2 lines per tree row, that you can get 2 ends of different manifolds on the same row. This doesn't happen in reality, and its hard to see the break between manifolds on a 1:1000 plan.
I thought that maybe selecting a multiple or even no. option would prevent that from happening.
I can send an example if you need clarification.
Thanks
User avatar
Dan Crosby
Site Admin
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:28 am
Company: Lincoln Agritech Ltd.
City / Town: Lincoln
Location: Lincoln, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Flush Sub-mains

Post by Dan Crosby »

This is to do with the overall number of laterals. Irricad will do it's best to match the requested number of laterals per manifold, but if space / set-up means you do not have an exact multiple of this number, you can end up with the 'odd' grouping. Say for example, you draw a block that has 39 or 41 laterals, and request 10 laterals per manifold. The manifolds do not control the number of laterals.

Dan Crosby
Irricad Developer
Lincoln Agritech Ltd
Harvie
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:03 am
Company: Irrigation Systems Australia
City / Town: McCracken SA
Product: Irricad Standalone

Re: Flush Sub-mains

Post by Harvie »

Hi Dan.
I understand why. Just wondering if it was possible. It would save some manual time.
Thanks
Post Reply